Postal Index Number – PIN Code

Postal Index Number / Postal Identification Number – PIN Code

Do you know why ( Postal Index Number) Pincode is the six-digit number and why it’s an important part of any address in India? But why is that important, and how does it help the postal department? We have gathered all information for all of you. Stay tuned and keep reading till the end.

What is the significance of the PINCODE (Postal Index Number)? Why do the Postal Service and courier companies require you to write the PINCODE of the addressee?  What makes it so crucial?


The Postal Index Number (PIN) or PIN Code is a six-digit code India Post uses to number Postal Service and It is also known as area postal code or zip code. On August 15, 1972, by Shriram Bhikaji Velankar, the PIN was introduced. The country is divided into nine PIN regions. The first eight digits represent geographical regions, while the ninth is set aside for the Army Postal Service. One of the regions is indicated by the first digit. The second digit (States) indicates the subregion, or one of the postal circles is indicated by the second digit (States). The third digit indicates a sorting/revenue district. The last three digits indicate the delivery Post Office.

Non delivery SOs and Bos don’t have separate Pin code. 

These codes are decoded as:

1st digit – One of the regions (9 regions)
First 2 digits– The sub-region/Circle (22 circles)
First 3 digits– Sorting area
Last 3 digits– Delivery post office c

The PIN for an address may be found on the Postal Service website.

An example of a Postal Index Number from Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh.

1.      4 indicates the West postal zone

2.      5 indicates a postal sub-zone in Madhya Pradesh

3.      6 indicates the Ujjain sorting district

4.      0 indicates the Ujjain core area service route

5.      01 indicates the Ujjain Head Office as the delivery office.

First DigitRegionStates Covered
1NorthernDelhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir
2NorthernUttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal
3WesternRajasthan and Gujarat
4WesternMaharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh
5SouthernAndhra Pradesh and Karnataka
6SouthernKerala and Tamil Nadu
7EasternWest Bengal, Orissa and North Eastern
8EasternBihar and Jharkhand
9APSArmy Postal Service

Leave a Comment